RSS

Building an Effective Presentation

28 Sep

Google Documents are wonderful. No software to buy or upgrade. However there are a few drawbacks, like not having as many bells and whistles. From the information I could find, at this time you can not embed a live poll, you have to settle for a hyperlink. This version of my presentation doesn’t have any sounds and only a slide right transition. Since all of our teachers have Promethean Boards, I want to utilize Active Inspire features for the animation and sounds. I know I broke the rules by having more than 20 words on a slide for the directions on how to do the poll. This is a totally new concept for my teachers, so I thought the explicit directions that come with Poll Everywhere were necessary.

I uploaded the PowerPoint to Slideshare, but after an hour it is still in process. So here is the actual PowerPoint presentation. It is a little different from the Google Presentation, as I had more bells and whistles to work with. Again it has no sound or transitions yet, but this way you can see the slide notes.

The Power of the Point

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Building an Effective Presentation

  1. melaniegoodson

    September 29, 2012 at 9:03 am

    I agree with the bells and whistles you describe. I, too, had to upload my PowerPont to Google Docs. The example you provided was great, and I think any staff would benefit from a “refresher” on visual aids.

     
    • Cheronne Edwards

      September 30, 2012 at 11:26 am

      Thank you. I am going to tinker some more with slideshare, when I am not up against a deadline, and have decent bandwidth. Hopefully it isn’t blocked at school….

       
  2. wingkender

    October 1, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Great presentation, really enjoyed the comedic nature of the delivery, especially the CAT!
    Also, using a current movie event was clever, keeps the interest level of the viewer engaged.

    I transferred my presentation from PPT to GOOG as well, I found that I could get MOST of the same or similar animations, but it took some time to figure it out. GOOG could fancy it up a bit, but hey its free!

    WINK.

     

Leave a Reply

 
