RSS

A Reflection on PBL

01 Aug
Reflections on my learning….

What I now understand best about Project Based Learning is that there needs to be some sort of public (the more you can involve the community the better) exhibition of the project, whether that is a presentation or demonstration.  I also learned more about the evaluation and reflection piece. I especially liked the Critical Friend Tuning constructive critiques.  

What I would like to learn more about is how to involve the community when resources are very limited. This might be an opportunity for e-pals of some sort. I also know I could stand to learn better time management and pacing. It seems like I either allot too much time or under estimate the time a project will take.
I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this course. I have developed a better understanding of the intricacies of project planning and development. I have used PBL type activities over the years but never had any specific class or training. So this was very helpful.  

From this course I learned the steps in sequential planning in developing a project.  The most important thing I gleaned from this process is that PBL is more than having a project that meets academic and 21st century standards. There are essential elements that must be included: Students have to engage in an in-depth inquiry into an essential or driving question, have a choice is what they produce to demonstrate learning, have some sort of public forum for presentations, and there needs to be an opportunity to revise products and reflect on the learning.

Now that I am back in the classroom, I will take what I learned from this class along with the resources I gathered to continue designing and implementing projects in my classes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2013 in Ed Tech 542

 

Leave a Reply

 
