RSS

Communication Poll

25 Jul

When I read this weeks assignment I instantly knew I wanted to use Poll Everywhere. I have used Survey Monkey in the past, but it isn’t my favored service. Give it a try, just click on your choice in each of the polls.

Poll 1:

 

See Live Results for Poll 1

Poll 2:

See Live Results for Poll 2

 

Tags:

17 responses to “Communication Poll

  1. Lynn Johnson

    July 25, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    I will be very interested in your reading choice results. I actually wanted to say “it depends” because when traveling sometimes it is easy to have my book on my device so I don’t have to take two items, but often since I work in the library system it is just easier for me to pick up the copy off the shelf. So, it depends. I almost said email for the first one and was surprised to see that at the time of my response that 100% of responders said texting. Great questions!

     
    • cedwardsbms

      July 26, 2014 at 10:48 pm

      Lynn,

      Based on your comment, I updated the post so now there are live links. I am hoping more people will vote. Granted it is more interesting when you do a poll with a large audience, but this forum works well too.

       
  2. Bryan Wiedeman

    July 26, 2014 at 2:04 am

    I’ve never tried Poll Everywhere before. I’ve always used Survey Monkey. I was surprised when I went to Survey Monkey this week after not using it for awhile to see that it has been completely revamped. Looks great with lots of more features.

    Disclaimer: I don’t work for Survey Monkey.

     
    • cedwardsbms

      July 26, 2014 at 10:45 pm

      I will keep your unsolicited endorsement in mind and check it out. It is a good option, especially for longer surveys.

       
  3. Stacie Barker

    July 26, 2014 at 6:41 am

    I had a hard time trying to get Poll Daddy to work on my blog so I tried Poll Everywhere (after seeing it on your page) and I finally got a poll to correctly insert into Blogger. Thanks for sharing where you created yours.

     
    • cedwardsbms

      July 26, 2014 at 10:43 pm

      I will have to try Poll Daddy at some point. I haven’t looked at their code structure. I have learned that you have to tweak the embed coding quite frequently. Glad you got your poll to play nice with your blog. I will have to go check it out!

       
  4. misslodwick

    July 26, 2014 at 8:00 am

    I envy those that were able to insert a poll! Edublogs requires you to upgrade in order to embed anything. I was torn on the second poll. Some things I prefer a hard copy of and some things I prefer online!

     
    • cedwardsbms

      July 26, 2014 at 10:40 pm

      I don’t like reading long documents/books online. I don’t mind eInk style readers usually, especially when I am traveling. As an avid reader, books get very heavy and take up lots of space in luggage. However, some books just require a real binding! To me it is still a different experience reading hard copies as opposed to digital copies. There is something special about holding a book, especially the touching and turning the pages as you read to a child. I have read to my granddaughters from a tablet and eReaders, they enjoy it. When I read an “old-fashion” book the story is more vivid to them – especially and of the Skippyjon Jones books. That connection with the text is what really sparks the love for reading.

       
  5. misslodwick

    July 26, 2014 at 8:06 am

    Wait you’re using Edublogs too. How did you get it to work?!

     
    • cedwardsbms

      July 26, 2014 at 10:26 pm

      I about pulled my hair out trying all the html tricks I could think of to get it to work. I even resorted to reading FAQs and such. Finally, I read where to insert the poll – you have to have the Pro version. Since I just got permission to blog with my students (who still do not have email at school), I was going to pay the $40 anyway. Once you pay, you simply go to add media and and insert the URL.

       
  6. mbender37

    July 27, 2014 at 10:10 am

    Remind 101 (I think just called Remind now) is great for sending text reminders to parents or students. Worth looking into! I used it last year and plan on using it even more this year for reminders on everything- upcoming tests, projects, events, etc!

     
    • Kelsey Ramirez

      July 28, 2014 at 5:34 pm

      Great tip! Thanks!

       
  7. Molly Large

    July 27, 2014 at 11:24 am

    I love Poll Everywhere for its flexibility! I like to use it with my presentations as a way to engage the audience. It lets me check for understanding and know where I need to do some reteaching. I also like to use it as a discussion starter, using opinion polls such as you have here. If I did a poll such as this with my class, my next question to them would be what questions they have about the data – for example, did more women than men answer in a certain way? Why might that be? I have them talk in small groups and have them come up with 2-3 questions that the survey results raise. I think it’s a good start to data literacy!

     
    • cedwardsbms

      July 27, 2014 at 9:34 pm

      I love your idea of extending the poll. Taking the poll further to analyze the results is very important, students need a better understanding of data analysis. I used Poll Everywhere when I was doing staff PD and found it very effective not only as an method to engage the audience, but because it highlighted that students can use their mobile devices for educational purposes when given the opportunity.

       
  8. Kelsey Ramirez

    July 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    Great questions!
    I was also torn about the questions because I love the feel of a book, but I also have started getting into reading on my tablet because of the ability to have it there wherever I go.

     
  9. Angie Kruzich

    July 29, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    Okay so I voted for text messaging however, I prefer that for personal use and prefer email for work. I really dislike phone calls anymore because you never know how long a call will take.

    I love using my Nook for reading! It made reading while on the elliptical much less difficult…no more trying to keep the pages open!!

    What didn’t you like about survey monkey?

     
    • cedwardsbms

      July 29, 2014 at 8:56 pm

      Angie,
      I am torn, people who know me probably would say I prefer texting (I text more than my grown children). In reality, depending on who it is, I actually prefer talking on the phone, as long as I don’t have to actually hold it. I frequently find myself doing both simultaneously. I do miss the more personal aspect of communication that seems to have gone to the wayside.

      I agree with you, email works better in the work environment. It allows for more clarity, attachments, and length. As for Survey Monkey, it isn’t I don’t like the app, I just tend to think it is designed to be more in depth, being more of a survey tool than for polls. It is to email as Poll Everywhere is to SMS.

       

Leave a Reply

 
