RSS

Twitter, Hashtags, and PD oh my!

20 Sep

Twitter and I are getting more closely acquainted. I was introduced to Twitter, kicking and screaming, this summer. I can’t say I have jumped in to the blue pool just yet as I am still trying to adjust to this form of communication. As I sat here working on my portfolio video script on my big screen, on my laptop’s screen the columns of my tweet deck were scrolling along as new posts came in. It occurred to me just how “now” Twitter really is. I read the slide share presentation and such but watching the posts go by on the monitor was more impactful.

The hash tags I opted to follow for this course are: #symbaloo, #infolit, #flipclass, #edutech and #edtechchat. I may decide to change it up some if I see that there is too much overlap, or a category just doesn’t suit my needs. That is one of the great things about this forum, we have control over what we choose to vest our time in.

From following these hashtags I have found:

  1. A cool quote generator from #edutech called Quozio. You simply type/copy a quote and then select the background settings from a gallery.
  2. #edtechchat had a posting of the 25 edtech terms a connected educator should know that included a great infographic.
  3. From #infolit, courtesy of Emerald Library, I found 15 Lesson Plans for Making Students Better Online Researchers.
  4. #flipclass had a great resource on how to set up a flipped classroom
  5. Through the #fetc stream I added, I found this article at Daily Genius that fits very well with this module How to use Google Classroom for professional development.

Just in time PD does not and should not mean a throw-it-together-10-minutes-before-the-meeting-professional-development activity. It does mean that it is the training a person needs when they need it. As a former leader of professional development, I like the notion that each person can be responsible for their own learning, tailoring it to suit their own specific needs. The canned presentations where one size/style really doesn’t fit all is ineffective and often a waste of time. Yes, you can usually pull something out of a presentation that is useful, but that isn’t the point. Time is a valuable and non-renewable resource, so why squander it sitting through a workshop that doesn’t apply to you? Stop and think about it…we try to differentiate our instruction to meet the needs of our students, but how often is the instruction we get differentiated to meet our professional needs? Using Twitter and other such sources for on demand PD makes more and more sense. It not only provides a cost effective solution, it is timely and meets each person’s specific needs. Monitoring participation and learning is feasible, we are doing it for module 3, so why not for professional development? The more I read and learn about real-time learning, the more I think it is just want we need “now.”

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
