RSS

Curation Reflection

13 Oct

My PLN group for EdTech 543 came up with a specific set of criteria for curation. Upon reflection, this is how I would rate my curated topic at PearlTrees.

  1. Determine what to curate:The topic I chose was WICOR, I did break down each component as I felt it clarified the topic and wasn’t as cluttered.
  2. Identify audience:This collection is primarily for middle school teachers. There are several resources that are well suited for high school and college professionals, and even some that elementary teachers can utilize. Overall, my target was middle school teachers and this collection represents that population.
  3. Set a schedule:I didn’t have a set schedule, I did set aside an hour or two each day to find and review the resources. I think the scheduling comes into play once you are established, not so much, as when you are still in the creation stage.
  4. Verify the veracity of the information or writer:I did this; with the exception of the added collection, (those resources were from verified sources). All of the resources in this collection are from known organizations. I didn’t include individual blogs, maybe as time goes on.
  5. Identify several sources to follow:This I did. You will see in the collection several resources are from the same organization. I focused on AVID of course and National Council of Teachers of English.
  6. Determine relevance of information to the collection:This was one of the more difficult criteria to follow. I did a lot of sifting. Even though I read each piece for initial selection, it further reflection to see how it fit with the other resources. During this process, many of the articles or sites were deleted and new ones added.
  7. What sources are acceptable:This was easy…as long as it met the other criteria of being relevant and accurate it didn’t matter the format. Having a variety was important.
  8. Determine if the age of the artifact: For the most part, age of the artifact was not an issue given the nature of the collection. Age would be a factor for any applications suggested as technology is changing so rapidly, but at this time the resources were not age sensitive.
  9. Filter sources based on usefulness and fit with collection: This turned out to be one of the key criteria. I ended up deleting many of the resources, as they didn’t fit, even though they met the rest of the criteria. I did save them however, just didn’t include them in the collection. Also, I noticed as you find more and more artifacts and reflect on them you may end up changing the slant you want to take with the collection.
  10. Determine how to annotate each finding: This was a difficult task. The assignment specifically stated not to just summarize the artifact, but I still felt an overview was important. I ended up with a brief overview and justification as to why I selected the resource and in most cases how it applied to the classroom.
  11. Bring out the interesting points of each artifact: In the summary I tried to bring out what I found interesting and useful in each resource so viewers knew why I had selected it.
  12. Determine the flow/layout for information: PearlTrees is rather limited in the layout options. What I did to make the collection more user-friendly was to breakdown each component of WICOR in order, with one component addressing WICOR as an overall strategy.
  13. Make collection accessible/user friendly: I setup the layout to be as user-friendly as possible by having each component in a separate section. PearlTrees also gives you an option to share with Facebook Friends, so I opted to do this. PearlTrees also sends you notifications if someone else adds one of your artifacts so you can go and look at their collection and of collections and artifacts that match what you are curating.
  14. Set a schedule: I am still working on this. I think it is important to set time aside to working on finding resources and making sure what you have still fits, but I haven’t figured out when to do this. The best time would be some time during the school day, but I generally encounter so may web filter blocks that this may not be feasible. As of now, I am doing it when I remember and have time available.
  15. Establish feedback loop: I am not to this point in my curation. I am starting to get notifications that someone else has added the same resource and that makes you feel validated and that you can contribute to others. Which is the whole point of developing an PLN.
  16. Keep it ethical – avoid piracy: This was an easy to do, since the PearlTrees artifacts I used were links. I can see though it could be problematic as you can upload files. Given the structure the credit for these sources would have to be in the a comment.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
