RSS

My PLE

26 Oct

My PLE is much larger than this but this is a start.I chose a water fountain because just as the water flows and cascades so does my learning. You can see in this photo water splashing, it reminds me that we may focus on one level but our learning splashes over into other areas and topics while all flowing back together eventually.

I chose to use one of the mind mapping tools suggested for Module 5 – SpicyNodes. I looked over several others, but decided I liked the movement in this app offered. It took me a while to get focused on this assignment. As I felt a little like Alice falling down the rabbit hole. When I got stopped and was able to focus on the different communities I have encountered and started using, it was hard to limit myself and I know I left many out trying to stay on task. The progression and participation in the different communities is not linear but more like a bowl of spaghetti – all intertwined, or if you want to stick with the water analogy, you can’t distinguish where each specific drop of water came from because they are all mixed together in the fountain.

beasain-91731_1280

I started with two basic connections Moodle and Google. Whilst the resources listed under one heading there is a lot intertwining, overlapping, and melding of the involvement in the various communities.

Google is the real starting point for me. The communities I found and participate in come from my connection to using Google. For this illustration I chose:

  • Email
  • Shared Documents
    • VoiceThread
    • Prezi
    • Google Drive
    • Glogster
  • Networking
    • LinkedIn
    • Google+
    • Google Hangout
  • Search
    • Mastery Connect
    • Pixabay
    • Share My Lesson

Moodle was the second offshoot of my fountain of learning. My connection to Moodle is really from doing some searching for a program and ending up at Boise State. For this assignment though, I am focusing on the different learning communities I have learnt to utilize because of using Moodle.

  • Blogging
    • WordPress
      • Symbaloo
      • Edmodo
    • Feedly
      • eSchool News
        • Connected Educator
        • Discovery Education
  • Buck Institute for Education
    • PBLU
  • Copyright Friendly Music and Pictures
    • Compfight
    • Wikimedia Commons
    • Jamendo
    • Soundzabound
  • Social Networking
    • Diigo
    • Factbook
    • Twitter
      • Common Sense Media
      • TeacherCast
        • Remind
        • Hour of Code
      • Class Dojo

Viewing the wide array of diagrams, you can see personalities shine through and a lot of commonalities.Even though the vast majority of the diagrams have many of the same basic components: Facebook, Google+, Twitter, Diigo, and such, you can see the importance of each of the communities in relation to the learner.

  • Kyle’s illustration of a football play. You can see the overlap and movement of the different tools he utilizes.
  • I really like how Kimberly used the flower petals to illustrate how everything is connected to her and showed the importance by the size of the image within the petals.
  • Alissa used the hands to show the circular connections. What I really liked about her PLE were the labels. They made it clear why she selected the different apps for different areas.
  • Chef Andrew made me smile, but it also makes you stop and think. It really does take a little of this and some of that to make a good recipe for learning. You can just focus on one source or tool.
  • Bryan has a great target, with the three methods he uses to access his learning environment. I see that all the tools are how he connects himself and his learning to people.
  • Ross’s diagram is spaghetti art! I can relate to his and all the twists and loops because that is how learning is for me as well.
  • Katie’s really shows how things are connected and build on one another.

My diagram/web is divided into chunks and is interactive, yet still contains many of the same communities as other students. What I see as different are the types of communities we all selected. Social networking communities are the main source in most of the diagrams. My communities were spread over a variety of social networks, presentations, copyright friendly sources, and all things Google.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
